Nigeria has 170 Universities in total. The federal universities in Nigeria make up for 43 in total with the University of Ibadan being the oldest, established in 1948.  Maritime University Delta State and Air force Institute of Technology Kaduna established 2018 are the newest federal universities in Nigeria.

The state universities in Nigeria are made up of a total number of 48 with Rivers State University established in 1979 and Ambrose Alli University Ekpoma Edo state established in 1980 being the oldest state universities, and Bayelsa state university established in 2019 the newest state university.

Private Universities in Nigeria consist of a total number of 79, with Babcock University Ilesha and Igbinedion University Okada both established in 1999 are the oldest Private University and Greenfield University Kaduna and Dominion University Ibadan established 2019 being the newest Private University in Nigeria. Presently in Nigeria,

Based on Research and Academic excellence, teaching and knowledge transfer, the following make up the Top 10 Universities in Nigeria 2020;

10 Federal University of Technology, Minna

Established in 1983 with 10 faculties, FUTMINNA specializes in technological education. The University is a designated Centre of Excellence in Biotechnology and Genetic Engineering and has a core competence in the development of vaccines and drugs.
New student fee: Total 61,200

9 University of Ibadan

Established in 1948 with 16 Faculties, UI is a world-class institution for academic excellence geared towards meeting societal needs, to expand the frontiers of knowledge through the provision of excellent conditions for learning and research.
New student Fee: Total N 35,00/ 48,000

8 Federal University of Technology, Akure

Established in with about 7 faculties. FUTA is a world-class University of Technology and a Centre of excellence in training, research and service delivery. It seeks to promote technological advancement by providing a conducive environment for research, teaching and learning engenders development of products that are technologically oriented, self-reliant and relevant to society.
New student fee: Total N 52,100

7 University of Abuja

Established in 1988 with 12 faculties. Unibuja is an institution of higher learning that combines academic excellence with the pursuit of the unity of Nigeria. It provides instructional, research, and public service programmes appropriate to a university of high standing that guarantees academic excellence. encourage the advancement of learning and to hold out to all person without distinction of race, creed, sex or political conviction, the opportunity of acquiring a higher liberal education
New student fee: Total N32,500

6 Ahmadu Bello University

Established in 1962 with 13 faculties. ABU is engaged in imparting contemporary knowledge, using high-quality facilities and multi-disciplinary approaches, to men and women of all races, as well as generating new ideas and intellectual practices relevant to the needs of its immediate community, Nigeria and the world at large.
New student fee: Total N 45,000

5 University of Ilorin

Established in 1961 with 15 faculties. Unilorin provides opportunities for Nigerians aspiring to acquire University education and generate high-level manpower vital for the rapidly expanding economy.
New student fee: Total N 25,000/ 40,250

4 Obafemi Awolowo University

Established in 1961 with 13 faculties, OAU nurture a teaching and learning community, advance frontiers of knowledge, engender a sense of selfless public service that add value to Africa culture. As well as operate an equal opportunity educational institution, sensitive to the principle of gender equity and non-discriminatory on the basis of race, ethnicity, religion or physical disability.
New student fee: Total N 43,700/ 57,700

3 University of Nigeria

Established in 1961 with 14 faculties The school aims to attract, Educate, train and transform qualified persons to high-level manpower that are thoroughly equipped with adequate and updated knowledge and specialized skills in research and innovation.
New student fee: Total N 70,700/ 77,200

2 Covenant University

Established in 2002 with 5 Colleges (Faculties). CU creates knowledge and restore the dignity of the black man via a Human Development and Total Man Concept driven curriculum employing innovative, leading-edge, teaching and learning methods, research and professional services that promote integrated, life-applicable, life-transforming education relevant to the context of Science, Technology and Human Capacity Building
New student fee: Total N 817,000/ 857,000.

1 University of Lagos

Established in 1962 with 14 faculties. the University of Lagos has, for over 5 decades, provided qualitative and research-oriented education to Nigerians and all those who have entered its domain in search of knowledge. The University has built a legacy of excellence and has been instrumental in the production of top range graduates and academia who have had tremendous impact, directly or indirectly, on growth and development in Nigeria and beyond.
New student fee: Total N 53, 500/ 63,500

Leave a Comment